Faisalabad is the third-most-populous city in Pakistan, and the second-largest in the eastern province of Punjab. Historically one of the first planned cities within British India, it has long since developed into a cosmopolitan metropolis. Faisalabad was restructured into city district status; a devolution promulgated by the 2001 local government ordinance (LGO). The total area of Faisalabad District is 58.56 km2 while the area controlled by the Faisalabad Development Authority (FDA) is 1,280 km2. Faisalabad has grown to become a major industrial and distribution center because of its central location in the region and connecting roads, rails, and air transportation. It has been referred to as the "Manchester of Pakistan" because it contributes over 20% toward Pakistan's annual GDP.

Faisalabad is home to the University of Agriculture, Government College University as well as the Ayub Agricultural Research Institute, Divisional Public School Faisalabad and National Textile University. The university is organized into faculties of Agriculture, Agricultural Engineering and Technology, Food Nutrition and Home Economics, Social sciences, Animal Husbandry, Veterinary Science and Sciences. These units offer programmes leading to B.Sc. Agricultural Engineering, D.V.M., B.Sc. (Hons.), M.Phil, and Ph.D. degrees in agriculture and allied fields. Higher Education Commission (HEC) ranks the University of Agriculture, Faisalabad as the best university in the agriculture/veterinary field in Pakistan. The University of Agriculture- Faisalabad ranked number 4 among the top 10 universities in Pakistan.

The National Institute of Food Science and Technology (NIFSAT) was established as Food Technology Section in the then Punjab Agricultural College and Research Institute Lyallpur in 1959-60 which was given the status of Department in 1962. The Department of Food Technology became an administrating part of the Faculty of Agricultural Engineering and Technology at the inception of West Pakistan Agricultural University, Lyallpur in 1961. NIFSAT comprises of six sections and one center namely Nutrition & Food Safety, Grain Science & Technology, Dairy & Meat Technology, Fruits & Vegetables Technology, Oil & Sugar Technology, Food Microbiology & Biotechnology and Food Technology Transfer Centre (FTTC).